Ulaanbaatar to Bayan Olgii

JK
4 min readApr 23, 2021

Going from east to west on a route which has drastically varying weather, terrain is not going to be easy on a short time frame. I was under less than a 5days plan to visit the west side of Mongolia (Bayan olgii). Then i need to cross to china to take the return flight. If am going to take public bus from Ulaanbaatar, it’s going to take few days to reach there. With the risk of stopping at few unknown place to transfer different buses doesn’t look like a good idea to me. I really wanted to go there, the Altai Mountain.

While I am in the hostel (Ulanbaatar), am listening to few travellers. A group of 3 guys who travelled from Europe via Russia (The Siberian express), showing the nice photos of the north Mongolia. My mind is tickling and dilemma on the route I need to take. If I go north, it’s going to be lot of greeneries, forest and lakes. The south is the gobi desert. I have already said no to that as I love the snow and mountain.

While I was walking across the city, I visited few tourist agencies where they share free information while selling their service. I got to know more informations on what’s the best way to reach there. There was a guy (who is in my facebook friend list now) working in the travel agency who can speak english and got to have some casual conversion. I came to know the air route to Bayan-olgii is affordable($60+) and faster(2hours) as well. And I booked it without the second thought by myself online.

--

--

JK

I help myself and companies to grow in Digital world through digital marketing, digital transformation initiatives, product management. Traveled 15% of 🌏